### COOPERSBURG BOROUGH COUNCIL

# Reorganization Meeting Minutes January 2, 2018

The reorganization meeting of the Coopersburg Borough Council was held on Tuesday, January 2<sup>nd</sup>, in Council Chambers at Borough Hall and called to order by Mayor Hovis at 7:00 p.m.

#### **OPENING CEREMONIES**

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Roll call was taken by Manager Paashaus. All present were Mayor Hovis, Council Members Balascak, Craig, Dietz, Ellenberger, Felch, Poot, Thrapp, Engineer Erdman, and Solicitor Capehart.

## **OATH OF OFFICE**

District Magistrate Trexler administered the Oath of Office for Mayor Hovis, and Council Members Balascak, Craig, Dietz, and Ellenberger.

## **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Mayor Hovis opened the floor for nominations for Council President. Felch was nominated by Dietz and seconded by Poot. Felch was elected Council President by a vote of 6-0 (Felch abstained).

Mayor Hovis opened the floor for nominations for Council Vice President. Balascak was nominated by Craig and seconded by Thrapp. Balascak was elected Council Vice President by a vote of 6-0 (Balascak abstained).

At this time, the meeting was turned over to Council President Felch to preside.

### APPOINTMENTS/REAPPOINTMENTS

A Motion was made by Craig and seconded by Poot to reappoint the professional advisors. The Motion to reappoint all previous advisors passed by a vote of 7-0 (Solicitor – Gross McGinley, Engineer/Zoning Officer – Keystone Consulting Engineers, Code Enforcement Officer – Barry Isett, and Health Inspector – Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture).

## **NEW BUSINESS**

Council member Craig thanked Council for the opportunity to serve and shared his appreciation for the work done by the previous Council. Craig stated that he currently works for Barry Isett & Associates and will recuse himself from any decisions that may pose a conflict of interest. Craig stated that he will continue to support the efforts of the Comprehensive Planning Team in regards to the streetscape plan, highlighted the current grant awards by the state, and stressed the need to update the Zoning Ordinance.

## SELECTION OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES

The 2018 – 2019 Committee Assignments are as follows:

- 1. Balascak and Dietz Infrastructure Committee
- 2. Poot and Ellenberger Administration Committee
- 3. Mayor Hovis, Thrapp, and Craig Public Safety Committee

## **PUBLIC MEETING DATES**

The 2016 – 2017 Public Meeting Dates are as follows:

- 1. Council Committee Workshop 1st Monday of every month at 7:00 PM (except September due to labor day)
- 2. Regular Council Meeting 3<sup>rd</sup> Tuesday of every month at 7:00 PM

Council was reminded of the Sunshine Law information and Committee Workshop structure.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Council Member Balascak made a motion to adjourn which was seconded by Craig. The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 PM.

Timothy Paashaus – Borough Manager

John Felch, Jr. – Council President